Digimon Card Game Rules Q&A

Basic Rules
Deck Building
1 Can I put 4 copies of 「ST1-03 Agumon」 and 「BT1-010 Agumon」 each in a deck? Yes, even though the card name is the same, the card number is different, and is treated as a different card.
2 Can I put Digitama cards in a deck? No, you can not
3 Can I put non-Digitama cards in a Digitama deck? No, you can not
4 I have no intentions of using my Digitama deck, can I put 0 Digitama cards? Yes, a Digitama deck can be made up of any amount of Digitama cards from 0 to 5.
5 Can I put 5 of the same card in a Digitama deck? No, like your deck, you can only put up to 4 copies of cards with the same card number in your Digitama deck
6 Does the 50 cards in a deck include both the deck and Digitama deck? No, Digitama deck is separate from the 50 card deck.
Game Preparation
1 I don't like the cards I drew for my starting hand. Can I redraw instead? (Mulligan) No, you may not.
2 Can the winner of Rock-Paper-Scissors decide who goes first before the match begins? No, the winner automatically starts first.
3 Do you decide who goes first before drawing your starting hand? Yes, You decide who goes first by playing Rock-Paper-Scissors, then you draw your starting hand.
Active Phase
1 Do I also put my Tamer cards in Rest back to Active Yes, Tamers in Rest are also put to Active in Active Phase.
2 Can I choose not to put my Tamers and/or Digimons back to Active on purpose? No you can not. All of your cards in Rest must be put to Active.
3 During this phase, does my opponent also put their Digimons and Tamers to Active? No, only the Turn Player puts their Digimons and Tamers to Active in this phase.
Draw Phase
1 Can I choose to not draw a card on purpose? No you can not. As long as there is 1 or more cards in your deck, you must draw a card in this phase. (Except the 1st Turn Player of the game). If you are unable to a card in this phase due to having 0 cards in your deck, you lose the game.
2 How many cards can I have in my Hand? There is no upper limit to the amount of cards you can have in your Hand.
Raising Phase
1 Can I choose not to Hatch a Digitama or Move my LV3 or above Digimon from Raising Area to Battle Area on purpose? Yes, Hatching Digitama and Moving Digimons to Battle Area or not in this phase is your choice.
2 When I have a Digimon in my Raising Area, can I Hatch a new Digitama? No you can not, as there can be only 1 Digimon in your Raising Area.
3 Can I choose to destroy the Digimon currently in my Raising Area on purpose so that I can hatch a new Digitama? No, you can not. Players are not allowed to arbitrarily decide to destroy or return to hand Digimon or Tamer cards.
4 I have 0 cards left in my Digitama deck. Do I lose the game? No, you just become unable to Hatch a Digitama. You do not lose the game.
5 Do I Evolve Digimons in my Raising Area during Raising Phase? No, you Evolve Digimons in your Raising Area in the Main Phase.
6 When I Move a Digimon from Raising Area to Battle Area, does that Digimon's [On Play] skill activate? No, it does not. Moving a Digimon to Battle Area is not Playing them.
Main Phase
1 Can I immediately Evolve a Digimon that I just played? You, you can.
2 Can a Digimon that is Evolved the same turn it was Played perform Attacks? No, even if you Evolve a Digimon, they are unable to Attack the turn they are Played.
3 Can a Digimon attack on the turn it was moved to the Battle Area during Raising Phase? Yes, moving a Digimon into the Battle Area do not count as Playing them
4 When I Evolve a Digimon that is in Rest. Does the Digimon become Active? No, when you Evolve a Digimon in Rest, that Digimon remains in Rest.
5 When I Evolve a Digimon, does that Digimon's [When Played] skill activate? No, skills with [When Played] timing activates at a different timing from [When Evolving]
6 When I Evolve my Digimon in my Raising Area into a Digimon with [When Evolving] skills, does that skill activate? No, skills of Digimons in Raising Area do not work.
7 When I evolve a Digimon, what happens to the effects received by that Digimon before evolution? It depends on the effects
If the effect has no specific conditions as long as the effects are still valid after the Digimon evolves, those effects continue to take place
If there are any conditions that are not met anymore after evolving, those effects stop
8 If a card costs 11 Memory and the Memory Gauge is at 0, can I use that card? No, you don't have enough Memory when the Memory reaches 10 on your opponent's side, so the card cannot be used.
9 Can a Digimon in Raising Area be chosen as the target of effects from Digimons, Tamers, or Option cards? No, you can not.
Digimons in Raising Areas are not affected by any skills or effects unless specified.
10 When I pay the cost to Play or Evolve a Digimon and the Memory goes to 1 or more on my opponent's side, does that Digimon's [On Play] or [When Evolving] skill activate? Yes, it does.
Resolve all effects of cards, or effects that happened as a result of that using that card, before passing the turn.
11 For skills has a condition of [When you have XXmon], does it fulfill the condition if the required Digimon is in my Raising Area? No, Digimons in Raising Areas do not fulfill the condition.
12 When I have multiple card effects that activated at the same timing, in what order do I resolve them? The owner of the skills or effects can choose to resolve them in any order.
13 When both my skills and opponent's skills activated at the same timing, in what order do we resolve them? When effects from both sides are activated at the same time, resolve all effects of the Turn Player first. then resolve the effects of the non-Turn Player.
14 Can I Attack my opponent's Digimon? If your opponent's Digimon is in Rest, you may target that Digimon when attacking. If your opponent's Digimon is in Active, you can not attack that Digimon.。
15 I Attacked my opponent's Digimon and a Battle happens. Does this mean my Attack was [Blocked]?  No, [Block] happens when a Digimon with the skill <Blocker> activates the skill. Even if you chose to Attack a Digimon with that skill, that Attack is not regarded as [Blocked]
16 For skills with the timing [When Attacking] and [At the end of Attack], does that skill activate even if I Attacked with other Digimons that don't have those skills? No, skills with [When Attacking] and [At the end of Attack] are only activated when the Digimon holding the skills Attack.
17 When a Digimon's Skill and Evolution Source Skill with the timing [When Attacking] skills activate, can I choose a different target for each of the different skills? Yes, you can.
18
NEW
When a Digimon or Tamer is destroyed, returned to hand,
or removed in any way, do their effects that affect other cards disasppear?
It depends on the effects. If the effect timing is [Your Turn], [Opponent's Turn], [Both Players' Turn], those effects will be lost when the Digimon or Tamer is removed. However, an effect with those timing but has a specific condition to activate like [When you do XX], those effects will activate even after that card is removed before their effect activates. Effects with timing says [For the turn] or [until the end of opponent's next turn], etc, will remain in effect even if the card that activated that effect is removed
19 When I use an Option card and pay the Memory cost, and the Memory Gauge goes to 1 or higher on my opponent's side. Does that Option Card's effect still activate? Yes, it does.
Resolve all effects of cards, or effects that happened as a result of that using that card, before passing the turn.
20 Is there such thing as Negative DP? No, the lowest DP is 0. When a Digimon reaches 0 DP, it is destroyed.
21 When an effect that has the <Once per turn> restriction, if I choose not to activate it or did not fulfil the condition at the specific timing to activate it, am I not able to activate that skill anymore on the same turn? No, if the effect was not activated, the effect does not fulfil the <Once per turn> restriction. If you meet the timing or condition again on the same turn, you can use activate the effect then
22 When multiple effects activate at the same time, do the order of activation of all the effects have to be decided before starting to resolve them, or can I choose which one to resolve one by one while resolving them You can choose the next effect to resolve as you are resolving them one by one
23 When a card's effect is supposed to put the Memory to more than 10, what happens to the Memory after 10? Memory cannot be put to more than 10, so the excess Memory after 10 are ignored
24 Regarding cards that were revealed, when returning the cards to the bottom deck in any order, do I have to show my opponent player the order I return the cards in? Yes, please show your opponent the order of cards returned
25
NEW
Are [When Evolving] effects resolved before or after the Draw 1 bous from Evolving? After the Draw 1 bonus
26
NEW
I have 3 or more effects that activate at the same time, do I have to decide the order of resolution at the start before starting to resolve them, or can I choose which one to resolve one by one while resolving them You can choose the next effect to resolve as you are resolving them one by one
27
NEW
If an effect that target a Digimon with a keyword that has a specific activation timing like [When Played], are those Digimon treated as they don't have those keyword outside of those timings and can't be targetted? No, you can target a Digimon that has the specified keyword regardless of the activation timing
28
NEW
If an effect that target a Digimon with a keyword with specific conditions like [When you have 3 or less Security, this Digimon gets XX] if those conditions are not met does that mean you can't target that Digimon? Yes, a Digimon only possess the keyword when it fulfills the specified conditions, or is given the keyword by another effect, while in the Battle Area. Otherwise you are unable to target that Digimon
29
NEW
When there are multiple effects that lasts [for the turn] or [until the end of opponent's turn] on the same Digimon, is there an order of which of effects end firsts? No, all effects that end at the same timing will be lost all at the same time. For example if a Digimon that is under the effects of both +DP and -DP would have been destroyed without the +DP effect, both effects would be lost at the same timing, so that Digimon will not be destroyed in the end.
30
NEW
Must all effects with timings of [When Played], [When Evolving], [When Destroyed], [When Attacking] be activated at those timings happen? Yes, if it is possible. However effects with text that says "you can/may" or "By doing XX, you do YY", means you can choose not to activate them. In the latter case, doing XX is optional, but if you did not, you are unable to activate YY.
31
NEW
If an effect targets 2 of my opponent's Digimon, am I unable to activate that effect if my opponent only has 1 Digimon? No, even if there are less effect targets than specified, you can still activate those effectts.
32
NEW
If an effect targets 2 of my opponent's Digimon, and my opponent has exactly 2 Digimon, can I purposely only actiivate the effect on 1 of them? It depends on the effect. When your opponent has 2 Digimon- (a) If the effect text says to target 2 opponent's Digimon, you must activate that effect on those 2 Digimon. (b) If the effect text says to target up to 2 Digimon, you can choose to activate that effect on 1 to 2 of those 2 Digimon (TL Note: You cannot choose 0)
Keyword Effect <Security Attack>
1 My Digimon with <Security Attack +1> attacked my opponent, and it lost the battle against the Security Digimon from the first Check. What happens to the 2nd Check? When the Attacking Digimon is destroyed or returned to hand, the Attack ends at this point of time and any remaining Checks do not happen.
2 My Digimon has multiple instances of <Security Attack +1>, do those effects stack and add up? Yes, <Security Attack> effects stack.
3 When my Digimon that has <Security Attack -1> in effect Attacks the opponent, does a Check happen? No, as the Check number is 0, a Check does not happen.
4 My Digimon with <Security Attack+1> Attacked my opponent, and the first Check revealed a [ST2-14 Hammer Spark] which resulted in the Memory going to 1 or more in my opponent's side, does the 2nd Check still happen? Yes, it does. The turn does not pass until the attack is resolved.
5 My Digimon with <Security Attack+1> Attacked my opponent, and the first Check revealed [ST3-16 Holy Flame] which gave my Attacking Digimon <Security Attack-1>. Does the 2nd Check still happen? No, as the <Security Attack -1> put your Attacking Digimon's number of Checks to 1, and the number of Security Check is at 1 at that point of time, the Attack ends.
6 My Digimon with an Evolution Source Skill of <Security Attack+1> Attacked my opponent, and the first Check revealed [BT1-101 Nail Crusher] and that Evolution Source is discarded as a result. Does the 2nd Check still happen? No, that Digimon loses the <Security Attack> skill when the Evolution Source holding the skill was discarded, the 2nd Check does not happen.
7 When my Digimon that has <Security Attack -3> in effect Attacked my opponent, what happens to the number of Checks? As the Security Check number is now 0, a Check does not happen. Also, the lowest number of Security Check a Digimon can have is 0, and does not go below 0. Even if the number of Security Checks of a Digimon is minused further by effects, the number will still be 0.
8 If a Digimon has both <Security Attack -3> and <Security Attack +1> in effect, what is the number of Checks it has? As both skills are in effect and the result is not higher than 0, a Check does not happen.
Keyword Skill <Blocker>
1 When my opponent's Digimon is Attacking, and I have a Digimon with the skill <Blocker>, is it compulsory to activate the skill to Block? No, choosing to Block or not is up to you.
2 Can I Block even if the Attack target was a Digimon instead? Yes, you can. In this case the Digimon being Attacked changes to the Blocking Digimon.
3 My Digimon with  the skill timing [When Attacking a Digimon] 」 Attacked my opponent player. That Attack was Blocked in response. Does the skill activate? No, it doesn't.
4 When my Digimon Attacked, and my opponent activates a Blocker, can I activate my own Blocker in response? No, <Blocker> is a skill that only activates when an opponent's Digimon is Attacking. 
5 I have 2 Digimons with the skill <Blocker>. Can I activate both of them in response to my opponent's Digimon's Attack? No, you cannot. 2 <Blocker> skills can not activate at the same time.
6 What happens first? Skills with the timing [When Attacking] or declaration of activating <Blocker>? [When Attacking] skill effects are resolved first. Then  you can choose whether to activate <Blocker> or not afterwards
Keyword Skill <Recovery>
1 When I have 5 Security, do <Recovery> skills still activate? Yes, there is no upper limit to how many Security you can have.
2 When I have 0 Security, do <Recovery skills still activate? Yes, it does.
3 When I have 0 cards in my deck and I activate the skill <Recovery +1<Deck>>, what happens? Nothing happens
4 When I have 0 cards in my deck, and I activate the skill <Recovery +1<Deck>>, do I lose the game? No, a player only loses the game when they are unable to Draw a card during their Draw Phase. Being unable to Draw in any other situations does not cause a game loss.
5 When I activate the skill <Recovery +1<Deck>>, can I put the cards from my Digitama deck onto my Security? No, you can not. A Deck and a Digitama deck are treated as separate things.
Keyword Skill <Pierce>
1 When my Digimon with the skill <Pierce> destroyed my opponent's Digimon in battle, and a Security Digimon was revealed from the Security Check, does my Digimon continue to battle with the Security Digimon? Yes, your Digimon will battle with the Security Digimon like a normal Security Check.
2 When my Digimon with <Pierce> is battling a Security Digimon after a battling my opponent's Digimon, are effects that happened in the previous battle still in effect? It depends on the skill. If the skill timing is [When battling an opponent's Digimon], that skill's effect is lost as a Security Digimon does not count as a normal Digimon
3 When my Digimon with the skill <Pierce> destroys my opponent's Security Digimon in battle, does <Pierce> activate and let me perform a Security Check? No, <Pierce> does not activate against Security Digimons.
4 My Digimon that has both <Pierce> and <Security Attack+1> Attacked my opponent's Digimon and destroys it in battle. Is the number of Security Check still affected by <Security Attack +1>? Yes, the Security Check gets +1
5 My Digimon that has both <Pierce> and <Security Attack-1> Attacked my opponent's Digimon and destroys it in battle. Does a Security Check happen? No, as the number of Checks is 0 due to the skill <Security Attack-1>, a Check does not happen.
6 My Digimon with <Pierce> Attacked my opponent but was Blocked in response, and the Blocker was destroyed in battle. Does <Pierce> still activate?  Yes, it does.
7 My Digimon with <Pierce> Attacked my opponent's Digimon and destroys it in battle whilst my opponent has 0 Security. Do I win the game? No, as <Pierce> is a skill that performs Security Checks, it does not activate when your opponent has 0 Security.
Keyword Skill <Draw>
1 When you have 0 cards in your Deck, do <Draw> effects still activate? Although <Draw> effects still activate when you have 0 cards in your Deck, as it is not possible to resolve the effect, you are unable to draw any cards.
2 When I have 0 cards in my deck and I activate  <Draw>, do I lose the game? No, a player only loses the game when they are unable to Draw a card during their Draw Phase. Being unable to Draw in any other situations does not cause a game loss.
3 When there is only 1 card in my deck, and I activate <Draw 2>, what happens? Draw as many cards as you can. When there are not enough cards left to draw, the skill becomes nullified.
Keyword Skill <Jamming>
1 When my Digimon with <Jamming> Attacked my opponent and a card with Security Skill was revealed during Security Check, does that Security Skill activate? Yes, it does.
2 My Digimon with both <Jamming> and <Security Attack+1> Attacked my opponent, and lost the battle with the first Security Digimon. Does the Attack end even if I have 1 more Check? No, because of the skill <Jamming>, the Attacking Digimon was not destroyed, so the remaining Checks happen.
Keyword Skill <Absorb Evolution>
1 I evolve my Digimon in Raising Area into a Digimon with <Absorb Evolution>, can I use this effect to reduce the evolution cost? No, you cannot use <Absorb Evolution> when evolving a Digimon in your Raising Area
2 When I want to evolve into a Digimon with <Absorb Evolution> in my hand, can I put the Digimon that I am evolving to Rest in order to use <Absorb Evolution>? Yes you can, but the Digimon will be in Rest after evolving
Keyword Skill <Reboot>
1 Are my Digimon with <Reboot> not put to Active at my Active Phase? No, Digimon with <Reboot> are put to Active at both player's Active Phase
Keyword Skill <Devolve>
1 My Digimon has evolved from LV2 to LV4, but the LV3 evolution source has been removed by an effect. This Digimon then received the <Devolve> effect and only the LV2 card was left on the Battle Area. What happens to this Digimon? As LV2 Digimon cannot exist in the Battle Area, it is immediately put to Trash. This does not count as being Destroyed
2 When a Digimon that has activated its effect received the effect of <Devolve>, and the cards holding those effects are discarded. Are those effects now lost? If the effect states [For this turn] or until a specific timing, those effects continue to take effect even if the card holding those effects are discarded from <Devolve>
Effects with timing like [Opponent's Turn], [Both players Turn] etc lose their effects once the card with that skill are removed as the effects are continuous
3
NEW
If I use <Devolve> on a Digimon with Tamer card in it Evolution Sources, does that Tamer card also get discarded by <Devolve>? Yes, Tamer cards in Evolution Sources are also targetted by <Devolve>. However, if there is no more Evolution Sources under that Tamer card, you do not discard any further.
4
NEW
If I use <Devolve> on a Digimon with a Tamer card in its Evolution Sources, and the Tamer card becomes the topmost card afterwards, what happens? It will become a Tamer. But it is not treated as "Playing a Tamer"
5
NEW
If I use <Devolve 1> on a LV6 Digimon that has 2 LV5 Digimon cards in its Evolution Sources, what happens? The topmost card of the stack will become the Digimon. Even if it has a same LV card in its source, it's still treated as a Evolution Source
Keyword Skill <Companion>
1 When a Digimon with <Pierce> attacks a Digimon with <Companion>, and the attacking Digimon is destroyed from the effects of <Companion>, what happens to the <Pierce> effect? As the Digimon with <Pierce> has been destroyed, the <Pierce> effect does not activate
2 When my opponent's Digimon with <Companion> is destroyed in battle, does that fulfil the condition of [When only your opponent's Digimon is destroyed in battle]? No, as both Digimon would be destroyed as a result of <Companion>, the condition of [When only your opponent's Digimon is destroyed in battle] is not fulfilled
Keyword Skill <DigiBurst> - NEW
1 What kind of effect is <DigiBurst>? When you activate <DigiBurst>, you discard the stated number of Evolution Sources from that Digimon in order to activate the specified effect. The effects differ from cards to cards.
2 When I am to discard Evolution Sources from using <DigiBurst>, are they discarded before or after the activation of the effects? If the stated number of Evolution Sources are discarded first, then the effect can be activated
3 I want to activate my Digimon's <DigiBurst>, but it does not have enough Evolution Sources required. Can I discard all of that Digimon's Evolution Sources to activate the <DigiBurst>? No, as you are unable to discard the stated number of Evolution Sources in order for the effect to be activated, you cannot activate <DigiBurst> at all.
4 When I activate <DigiBurst> of my Digimon, can I discard my other Digimon's Evolution Sources instead? No, you cannot
5 When I activate <DigiBurst>, can I choose any card in the Evolution Sources to discard regardless of stacking order? Yes, the stacking order does not matter, you can choose to discard any cards in the Evolution Sources
6 When I activate <DigiBurst>, can I discard an Evolution Source that is not a Digimon Card? Yes, as long as it is a card in its Evolution Sources, you can choose to discard non-Digimon Cards as well
7 If the timing to use <DigiBurst> is a [Main] timing, can I activate it during the Main Phase of my turn? Yes, that's right
8 When I activate my Digimon's <DigiBurst>, do I have to put that Digimon to Rest? No, as the effect does not tell you to, the Digimon is not put to Rest when using <DigiBurst> NEW
9 Can I activate the <DigiBurst> of my Digimon that is in Rest? Yes, you can.
10 Since the <DigiBurst> effect does not have the (Once per turn) restriction stated, can I use it 2 or more times in a turn? Yes, as long as you are able to discard the stated number of Evolution Sources required to activate it, you can use it as many times as you want in a turn.
11 When I evolve a Digimon into a Digimon with [When Evolving]<DigiBurst>, can I activate the <DigiBurst> twice if it has enough Evolution Sources to do so? No you cannot. [When Evolving]<DigiBurst> can only be activated once when evolving
12 If an effect targets a Digimon with <DigiBurst>, are those Digimon not treated as Digimon with <DigiBurst> and can't be targetted outside their activation timings like [When Played] and [When Digivolving]? No, you can target a Digimon that has <DigiBurst< regardless of the activation timing.
Keyword Skill <Haste> - NEW
1 What kind of effect is <Haste> exactly? Digimon with <Haste> are not restricted by the rule of [Unable to attack on the turn they are Played]. It is an effect that allows them to attack on the same turn they are Played.
2 When I Play a Digimon with <Haste>, and the Memory goes to 1 or above on my opponent's side, can it still Attack? No. <Haste> allows a Digimon to Attack on the turn they are Played, as it is already your opponent's turn after paying the memory cost, it cannot Attack.
3 When I Play a Digimon that does not have <Haste>, then on the same turn Evolve that Digimon into a Digimon with Haste, can that Digimon Attack? Yes, it can Attack because it obtained <Haste>
4 When I Play a Digimon that with <Haste>, then on the same turn Evolve that Digimon into a Digimon that does not have Haste, can that Digimon Attack? No, it can't Attack as it lost <Haste>
5 If my Digimon with Haste Attacked, then is put to Active by another effect on the same turn, can it Attack again? Yes, it can.

Original Rules Q&A from the Digimon Card Game official website (17DECEMBER2020):
https://digimoncard.com/rule/pdf/qa_rule.pdf?v201217

Next Post

Comments

  • Brandon Weckert - January 13, 2021

    In which order do your stills resolve, when a digimon with “When attacking” skill and a inherenble “When attacking” still

  • oscar - January 13, 2021

    does loosing memory points goes to the opponent’s memory points? when i have zero memory points?

  • Then Chee Siong - January 13, 2021

    Can blizt greymon devolve level 3 digimon?

  • Christopher - January 13, 2021

    What happens to level 3 digimon when devolve by bliztgremon? Destroy or remain the field?

  • KhaixuanTee - January 13, 2021

    Does DP reduction stack? For example i got 3 Digimon with evolution source which reduce an opponent Digimon’s DP by 2000, can I kill a single opponent’s 6000 DP digimon by letting all 3 of them attack ?

  • Alexis Henriquez - January 13, 2021

    If a card with – ? DP activates and is more than the target Digimon DP, can it still be used or does it have to be the same amount?

  • Alexis Henriquez - January 13, 2021

    A few questions: Does “on play” mean I can play the effect during my turn like how it works in Yugioh, can a Digimon card use its inherited ability while still in the nursery area, and what does it mean to suspend?

  • Francisco - January 13, 2021

    Yes so if I use the tamer mimi tachikawa effect you move a digimon to the raising area to the battle are can that digimon attack

  • Francisco - January 13, 2021

    Yes so if I use the tamer mimi tachikawa effect you move a digimon to the raising area to the battle are can that digimon attack

  • Tk - January 13, 2021

    - Can you play a [Color] option card when you have no [Color] Digimon or Tamer in play, but have a [Color] Digitama in nursery?
    - If you have 2 memory at the start of the turn and 4x tamers with “[Start of the Turn] If you have less than 3 memory, memory +1”, do you get +4 memory or +1 memory?

  • Chris - January 13, 2021

    And about venommyotismon, when my digimon attack & venommyotismon was opponent digimon, is the attack success when my memory reduce to – 1?

Leave a comment